Laura Madden's Blog

Stories of change

Writing for The Rio Times

with 8 comments

Living in a foreign country, writing about the goings-on in that country and conducting interviews in Portuguese all make up the realization of a dream of mine.

I moved to Brazil in October after getting married and living in India for ten months. My husband, Ashraf, joined me here in late December when I began to write and shoot for The Rio Times.

Writing about travel on the beaches of Northeastern Brazil, the country’s oil boom, occasional pitfalls related thereto and a profile of the largest oil contractor in the world has been exciting and rewarding.

Stay tuned for more!

Written by Laura Madden

January 11, 2012 at 11:42 am

Posted in Uncategorized

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Now Brazil! Laura, I can’t wait for your autobiography. Ronnie B.

    Ronnie

    January 11, 2012 at 11:59 am

    • Thanks for reading, Ronnie — it means a lot to me that you would do. PS I still have plenty more to go before my autobiography! šŸ˜‰

      Laura Madden

      January 11, 2012 at 12:07 pm

  2. Hi Laura,

    How spooky! I was just thinking about you last night. So wonderful to hear you news. I’ll have to take a trip to Brazil sometime.

    Lots of love from

    Ali, Trev & Jerry

    xx

    Alison Grapes

    January 11, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    • Dear Ali, Trevor and Jerry, Thanks for reading and commenting on my blog! I have been thinking about you all and I hope that you will come to visit in Brazil! ā¤

      Laura Madden

      January 11, 2012 at 4:13 pm

  3. Wow I might want to travel to Natal!
    Great article Laura. Keep up the good work šŸ˜€

    carlos arboleda

    January 11, 2012 at 3:51 pm

  4. BRAZIL????! how exciting!! i’ve always wanted to visit. you must blog more. want to hear all about your life there. and glad you also posted the homeboy industries video. i appreciate getting the update on what’s going on there. šŸ™‚

    betty ming liu

    January 12, 2012 at 11:50 pm

    • Thanks Betty! We all await you here in Brazil, so do get in touch when you make your travel plans.

      Homeboy does such good work, I really like to get the word out about them. Thanks again for stopping by. ā¤

      Laura Madden

      January 13, 2012 at 10:22 am

  5. Hello Laura – lost track of you but did looks like I found you. Lots happening in your life and exciting!I always connect the Maddens and Brazil not surprised. Congratulations on your marriage! I think of you and your family often.

    Craig Kirsch

    November 9, 2012 at 11:48 am


Leave a Reply

